Home Rule Charter

Our Council-Manager form of government consists of a Mayor and six Town Council members elected at-large and a Town Manager. Council members' duties include enacting local legislation, adopting budgets, determining policies and appointing the Town Manager.

The Town Manager is responsible for the execution of laws and the administration of the government of the town. In other words, handles the day-to-day operations.

As a Home Rule Town, Prosper has more flexibility to adopt its own rules in addition to state legislation.

Prosper Town Charter (PDF)